Kuldeep Verma & Ritanjali Hastir, 11th May, 2019, Shimla

In life it is better not to wrap philosophy around such an inconceivable evolving beautiful mystery. If based on perception, alone; whatever the conclusion – it is still guessing and it won’t be wrong to say that in literature and in life we ultimately pursue, not conclusions but beginnings. The exciting and thrilling 24th Rev. Dr. Samuel Slater Memorial Inter-School English Debates organized by Bishop Cotton School, Shimla, finally concluded leaving behind thoughts to contemplate and decide for one-self what is our reality of the situation and our predicament as ultimately one can say that we simply don’t have enough data to form a conclusion.

Out of 16 teams that came to participate in the event the final battle of thoughts was fought between La Martiniere College, Lucknow; who won the final debate; against Mayo Girls, Ajmer, over the topics “Intelligent people tend to have fewer friends than the average”. The motion was carried as La Martiniere College spoke for the topic and Mayo Girls Ajmer against. Prior to this the first semi final was held between Mayo Girls College Ajmer and Bishop Cottons which was won by Mayo Girls. The second semi final was between RIMC and La Martiniere which was won by La Martiniere Boys. (CLICK TO SEE  ALL VIDEOS)

Chief guest for the final debate was Flight Lt. Anuj Tomar, Dy Commandant General H.P. Home Guards,  Civil Defense and Fire Services. He was impressed with the performances of the speakers and wished them success. He also congratulated the Principal and Staff of Bishop Cottons for organizing such a high level competition where a new vista of thoughts was opened that made all contemplate on small yet not so small topics in our regular lives.

Judges for the day included Puneeta Bhardwaj, Neelam Vij, Dr. Deepak Sood, Dr. Vipan Gupta, Firoza Singh, Vijay Singh, Gini Gul, Indira Bhasin and Jasleen Gulati.

The best speaker award was bagged by Sanidhi Singh of Mayo Girls Ajmer while Ishani Sharma from Auckland Girls got the award for best speaker in adversity.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here